This law went into effect for restaurants two years ago; now it rolls out for all other food businesses.  So this applies to any commissary, production facility, grocery, gourmet food shop–or any other non-restaurant.  

Bottom line: Employees that are not Certified Food Managers,  that handle food or food contact surfaces (read: dishwashers) must complete Safe Food Handler Training.  The course and exam are completed online, and certificate is printed out immediately after passing the online test.   All employees must be Food Handler certified within 30 days of hire.  Certification lasts 3 years. Here’s an FAQ document prepared by State of Illinois. 

LSK offers this class for $9.95 with its partner TAP Series. Accredited and honored by State of Illinois and City of Chicago. Take the class.

Law takes effect July 1, 2016, and City of Chicago will begin enforcement January 1, 2017. 

Go top